Information junkies

When I started out as a programmer (yes I have done substantial programming myself;-), the internet was there to send mail, read news, browse company folders and obtain manual pages. That was it. If you needed information on an anything you were working on you would RTFM, pick up a thick book and read.

Today is different: Google has transformed the way we obtain information. For example: if you have an error code just ask Google and it confirm that you are not the first to have the same error. Hopefully also not the first to find the solution.

simpsongoogle.jpg

The introduction of Google into our society was gradual yet so fundamental, that I cannot imagine what life was like before Google was there. I simply would have a hard time doing my work. Similar to what would happen if electricity would go away. Cosy and nice for a night but very very disruptive when sustained for long periods.

